Stop making sense, it’s as good as it gets.

April 2017 - July 2018

Do Things – an Exhibition by Something Fantastic
22 June – 29 October 2017

‘Do Things’ is a momentary collection of things that a) are done by SF, b) are beautiful, c) are found in Rio de Janeiro, d) are part of the academic canon, e) are copied, f) are from Borges, g) have no name yet, h) look like designed without design intentions, i) hold ideas for a brighter future, j) are simple, k) inspire. – Something Fantastic, 2017

This short manifesto by Something Fantastic is not only a reference to Jorge Luis Borges’ fictitious Chinese encyclopedia* but demonstrates the architects’ approach to practice: to shape the future with the existing and found, its hidden multiple possibilities still remaining in the dark, reaching beyond current classification systems. For their field research, Something Fantastic leave what is usually thought of as the realms of “classical architecture” to create heterogeneous spaces—applying a similar technique as philosopher Michel Foucault, who quotes Borges’ encyclopedia in The Order of Things.

Something Fantastic’s free-wheeling approach derives from the group’s deep interest in the world and their belief that architecture is affected by everything and vice versa does affect everything, combined with their conviction that a conscious thriving for beauty can make the world a better place. They travel as anthropologists of the present, photographing and archiving architectural moments, focusing on the interaction of materiality and atmosphere. And—just as anthropologists— they ‘write’ everything down, but don’t stop at interpreting and categorizing. They rather re-place the existing yet foreign into the known to produce beauty to change the world, shape the future and make people happy.

More...
FILM AS EXHIBITION / EXHIBITION AS FILM

Stop making sense, it’s as good as it gets.

Do Things – eine Ausstellung von Something Fantastic
22. Juni – 29. Oktober 2017

‚Do Things‘ ist eine stete Sammlung von Sachen, die a) von Something Fantastic gemacht sind, b) schön sind, c) in Rio de Janeiro gefunden wurden, d) Teil des akademischen Kanons sind, e) kopiert sind, f) von Borges stammen, g) noch keinen Namen haben, h) nicht gestaltet aussehen, i) in sich Ideen für eine bessere Zukunft tragen, j) einfach sind, k) inspirieren. – Something Fantastic, 2017

Mit diesem kurzem Manifest übernimmt das Berliner Architekturbüro Something Fantastic nicht nur die Form der fiktiven chinesischen Enzyklopädie von Jorge Luis Borges*, sondern demonstriert bereits, was ihre Praxis ausmacht: die Zukunft mit dem Vorhandenen und Verfügbaren zu gestalten, dessen vielfältige Möglichkeiten aber noch im Verborgenen verharren, da sie über die bisher denkbaren Ordnungssysteme und Kategorisierungen hinausreichen. Für ihre Forschungen verlassen Something Fantastic das sichere Feld der klassischen Architektur, um – wie der Philosoph Michel Foucault, der Borges Enzyklopädie in Die Ordnung der Dinge zitiert – einen Raum für das Heterogene und nicht mehr eindeutig Klassifizierbare zu erzeugen.

Der befreiende Weg, den Something Fantastic einschlagen, liegt in ihrem generellen Interesse an der Welt und der Überzeugung, dass alles die Architektur beeinflusst und sie sich umgekehrt auf alles auswirkt, gepaart mit ihrem Glauben, dass ein Bewusstsein für Schönheit die Welt verbessern kann. Sie reisen als Anthropologen der Gegenwart durch die Welt, fotografieren und archivieren architektonische Momente, die das Zusammenspiel aus Materialität und Atmosphäre in den Mittelpunkt rücken. Und so wie Anthropologen ‚schreiben’ Something Fantastic alles auf, verharren aber nicht im Interpretieren und Ordnen des Gesehenen, sondern setzen das Vorhandene und doch Fremde in das Vertraute, um Schönheit hervorzubringen. Diese, so ihre Überzeugung, kann die Welt verändern, die Zukunft gestalten und die Menschen glücklicher machen.

Mehr...
FILM ALS AUSSTELLUNG / AUSSTELLUNG ALS FILM